UQ 2021 Cyber Seed Funding

4 April 2022

13 collaborative projects have been approved for funding in the 2021 UQ Cyber Seed Funding Scheme. A total sum of $AUD 893,716 will be allocated across these projects. 

This scheme will be instrumental in supporting the efforts of UQ’s researchers and academics to establish new and expanded linkages with strategic partners. 

Congratulations to the following successful applicants: 

Round 1

A threat detection system for extended reality systems

(01/06/2021 – 31/05/2022)

  • Dr Mashuhuda Glencross (ITEE)
  • A/Prof Stephen Viller (ITEE)
  • Prof Simon Smith (ISSR)

A Data-Driven Analysis of Disinformation in Australian Social Media Campaigning

01/07/2021 - 30/06/2022

  • A/Prof Gianluca Demartini (ITEE)
  • Dr Glenn Kefford (POLSIS)

An Industrial Internet of Things Testbed for Secure Digital Agriculture

01/06/-2021 – 31/12/2022

  • Dr Guangdong Bai (ITEE)
  • Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)
  • Yanjun Zhang (ITEE)
  • Prof Louw Hoffman (QAAFI)
  • Bondi Labs

Round 2

Assessing the Impacts of Enhanced Cybertip Reports on AFP Child Abuse Material
Triaging and Investigative Referral Processes

01/09/2021 - 30/06/2022

  • Dr David Mount (SS)
  • Dr Renee Zahnow (SS)
  • Dr Richard O'Quinn (UQB)
  • Prof Lorraine Mazerolle (SS)
  • AFP

Cybersecurity Defence Strategies of Distribution Synchrophasor in Smart Grids

01/10/2021 - 30/09/2022

  • Dr Yi Cui (ITEE)
  • A/Prof Hongzhi Yin (ITEE)
  • Dr Ruifeng Yan (ITEE)
  • Dr Tong Chen (ITEE)
  • NOJA Power Switchgear

A pilot study of technical viability, criminal justice applications, and social implications of multilingual cross‐platform account linking

01/09/2021 - 31/08/2022

  • Dr Abigail Koay (ITEE)
  • Dr Jonah Rimer (SS)
  • Prof Adrian Cherney (SS)
  • Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)
  • AIC

Privacy preserving federated deep learning for medical imaging

01/10/2021 - 30/09/2022

  • Dr Steffen Bollmann (ITEE)
  • Prof Peter Nestor (QBI)
  • Dr Yanjun Zhang (ITEE)
  • Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)
  • Dr Jin Jin (UQ Advanced Imaging/Siemens)
  • Siemens Healthcare

Real-time Automatic Detection of Cyber-Attacks using Weakly Supervised Learning

01/09/2021 - 31/08/2022

  • Dr Abigail Koay (ITEE)
  • Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)
  • Dr Miao Xu (ITEE)
  • Dr Nan Ye (SMP)
  • Aarnet

Round 3

A Framework to support organisational leaders in making more informed by
cybersecurity decisions (submitted in round 2, revised based on cyber seed
funding committee comments)

01/01/2022 - 31/12/2022

  • Dr Ivano Bongiovanni (UQB)
  • Dr Richard O’Quinn (UQB)
  • Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)
  • Prof John Swinson (Law)
  • Averto

Automated Verification of Ethereum Smart-Contracts (AVESC)

11/01/2022 - 16/12/2022

  • A/Prof Mark Utting (ITEE)
  • Dr Naipeng Dong (ITEE)
  • Dr Marten Risius (UQB)
  • ConsenSys Software Inc

Formal Verification of Post-Quantum Cryptographic Primitives

01/12/2022 - 30/06/2023

  • Dr Naipeng Dong (ITEE)
  • Dr Veronika Kuchta (SMP)
  • Dr Guangdong Bai (ITEE)
  • CSIRO Data61
  • Dependable Intelligence

Collaborated Learning with medical data making high-stake decisions without
information leakage


  • Dr Weitong Chen (ITEE)
  • Dr Miao Xu (ITEE)
  • A/Prof Guido Zuccon (ITEE)
  • Dr Guangdong Bai (ITEE)
  • RBWH

A Resilient and Privacy-Preserving Platform for Automated Road Defect Detection
and Asset Management


  • Dr Yadan Luo (ITEE)
  • Dr Jiwon Kim (Civil Engineering)
  • Prof Helen Huang (ITEE)
  • Dr Mahsa Baktashmotlagh (ITEE)
  • Logan City Council QLD

The Committee felt that these proposals either or all had:  

  • Clearly articulated the cyber security threats/issues;  
  • Had good industry partnerships that committed significant in-kind support and team access;  
  • Had great collaborations with other schools/faculties/institutes across UQ;
  • A good mix of researchers with relevant track records and skills
  • Written language used was clear and easy to read for non-technical committee members
  • Followed grant guidelines

For further information, please contact UQ Cyber via cyber@uq.edu.au